This isn’t just a game… It’s an all out battle! New Mexico vs. BYU Women’s Soccer

In last week’s BYU vs. New Mexico conference tournament match, a full on attack was launched by New Mexico defender Elizabeth Lambert.  In the clip below you can see Lambert resort to some very, very physical play on BYU players.  Some call it unsportsmanlike, others call it tough play.  I think I’m going to have to go with the first one.

Look, as a former soccer player who competed at a collegiate level you’re definitely going to have some dirty play, but I’ve never seen so much in just one game.  What makes it worst is that the referees were oblivious to all the plays that Lambert was involved in.  Throughout the game she had rough tackles, threw some elbows, and even a take down on BYU Forward Kassidy Shumway by pulling her down to the ground by her pony tail.

The video of this game has become a media sensation.  Shown on USA Today, PerezHilton.com & even TMZ.  In response to the negative attention that the New Mexico women’s soccer team has received they have decided to suspend defender Elizabeth Lambert indefinitely.

BYU vs. NM - Take Down

Fair play or dirty play?

In a quote acquired via espn.com, New Mexico coach Kit Vela said “Liz is a quality student-athlete, but in this instance her actions clearly crossed the line of fair play and good sportsmanship.”

In her defense Elizabeth said, “I let my emotions get the best of me in a heated situation. I take full responsibility for my actions and accept any punishment felt necessary.  This is in no way indicative of my character or the soccer player that I am. I am sorry to my coaches and teammates for any and all damages I have brought upon them. I am especially sorry to BYU and the BYU women’s soccer players that were personally affected by my actions. I have the utmost respect for the BYU women’s soccer program and its players.”

I respect the decision by Coach Vela, Lambert’s actions were totally inappropriate and her penalty is just.  I anticipate that by next season Lambert will probably be reinstated by Coach Vela.  I just hope she and other players learned their lesson, hard and emotional play is tolerated; dirty and unsportsmanlike is definitely not.

Leave a Reply

