Michael Phelps – Up in Smoke

phelps-up in smoke

Phelps... First Time??

“I engaged in behavior which was regrettable and demonstrated bad judgment. I’m 23 years old and despite the successes I’ve had in the pool, I acted in a youthful and inappropriate way, not in a manner people have come to expect from me. For this, I am sorry. I promise my fans and the public it will not happen again.” – Michael Phelps

The News of the World – A British tabloid magazine recently released a photo of Michael Phelps taking a bong hit at a party in Columbia, S.C.  This picture has caused such outrage in Columbia that the town’s sheriff Leon Lott is building up a “case” against Phelps.  He has arrested seven people, and is looking to build evidence to prosecute Phelps, which brings up the question..

Is there really nothing better for Sheriff Lott to do than to prosecute Phelps for taking some hits off of a marijuana bong?

phelps-01Phelps is 23-years old, fresh off a record setting 8 gold medal Olympic performance and is just looking to enjoy the fruits of his labor.  Can the man celebrate a little bit??

I understand that smoking marijuana is illegal in the U.S., but there has to be more pressing matters in Columbia, S.C. than to spend our taxpaying dollars in building up a case against a young man who took a few bong hits.

Phelps has apologized and has received punishment for his “hits.”  He has lost a few endorsements and has been suspended 3 months by the U.S. Swimming Committee. I say to Sheriff Lott from S.C. let’smove on, let’s try to focus on catching real criminals instead of trying to catch your 15 mins of fame.

2 Responses

  1. Like the new theme! I think that Phelps was a bit dumb to do that in public, EVERYONE has cameras on their phones and Blueberry device thingies right? Still, I originally thought he was blowing up those balloons that clowns turn into animals at parties – or perhaps was drinking something with a really big glass straw considering how powerful his lungs must be. I had no idea what it really was until Liz explained it to me. 😉

  2. It’s just a little weed… we’ve all been there, he’s a young guy.. he’s not a saint… just a swimmer.. People should stop judging other people’s actions.. the fact is we all have done stuff we aren’t proud of… I say let the boy get high… and have some fun.. as long as he’s not sticking a needle in his arm… or ridding the “white horse” he’s still ok with me… 🙂

Leave a Reply

